DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently September 21st, 2020, 9:10 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
Author Message
PostPosted: September 9th, 2020, 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 8th, 2016, 4:34 pm
Posts: 393
I would install Ubuntu or win 10 since both are supported. Usually I install Ubuntu. What do you run that requires windows?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 9th, 2020, 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 1:19 pm
Posts: 480
If I can ask a question, what do you need a RAID for? The need and type has to be carefully considered. My understanding is that a RAID for speed for streaming audio or video is a waste, since the data speeds required are slow compared with disk data rates and do not warrant the complication of a RAID. Now a RAID for data integrity is another matter, and the easiest and safest way is RAID 1 disk mirroring, basically, realtime backup. For that you need two drives of the same capacity, but only have the storage size of a single drive, and you get no speed benefit. More complicated arrangements involving striping with data stored redundantly spread on several drives for better performance with hot-swapping and rebuild capability runs into risk of corruption of the entire array should something go wrong from a data corruption and rebuild process. I have a Synology NAS for my audio data with two drives in a RAID 1 setup. But this is controlled and managed at the NAS (running Linux btw), and presumably has a hardware controller for this (I am not really sure about this). I think setting up a RAID 1 on Windows 7 is probably a good thing and not very complicated, but I would not advise more than that.

This is of course, my opinion, and I am not an expert.

David


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 12th, 2020, 8:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 22nd, 2013, 11:00 am
Posts: 815
Working on an old PC that has one IDE connection, with a PCI card that has two IDE connections.

The PCI card has two CD/DVDROMs connected on the primary connector of both cables. Tried setting the jumper to cable select and master but neither is showing up in Windows. IDE controller drivers showing ok. What am I missing?

The motherboard IDE sees the master hard drive but not the slave hard drive. I probable need to change the jumper on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 12th, 2020, 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 8th, 2016, 4:34 pm
Posts: 393
Is it time to throw some hardware in the trash and bring yourself up to date. I can hardly remember IDE drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 13th, 2020, 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 17th, 2016, 6:24 am
Posts: 811
Steve,

Dump the junk you have. You dont have to spend a lot of money to get a decent desktop computer. Look at Ebay, Craigslist and Amazon Market place for used systems.

Here is one I found on Ebay for $137. 1TB HD, 8GB Memory and i5 CPU.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-Optiplex- ... ondition=4

_________________
Shashi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 16th, 2020, 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 22nd, 2013, 11:00 am
Posts: 815
I got the hard drives to work. It didn't have a slave jumper so you have to jumper the cable select option. Still working on the ROM drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 17th, 2020, 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 22nd, 2013, 11:00 am
Posts: 815
Is there any performance differences between using four 1GB memory vs two 2GB memory?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 18th, 2020, 5:59 am 
Offline

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 1:19 pm
Posts: 480
mix4fix wrote:
Is there any performance differences between using four 1GB memory vs two 2GB memory?


It depends. On an old motherboard (which I presume is what you are scraping off the bottom of the barrel), the memory is installed in two banks, each with two SIMMs. each, for a total of four slots. Memory access between the banks is interleaved. Therefore, it MAY result in faster memory access to have both banks filled rather than one bank filled. If you do not need to add memory in pairs to fill up a bank, (like two 32-bit modules to support a 64 bit memory system) it would not make any difference so long as both banks have memory installed. Read your motherboard manual, it will explain it, and tell you what memory sizes work on the board. If it is really old and only supports 4GB of memory, it may not support SIMMs larger than 1GB.

David


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: September 19th, 2020, 11:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 17th, 2016, 6:24 am
Posts: 811
David McGown wrote:
mix4fix wrote:
Is there any performance differences between using four 1GB memory vs two 2GB memory?


It depends. On an old motherboard (which I presume is what you are scraping off the bottom of the barrel), the memory is installed in two banks, each with two SIMMs. each, for a total of four slots. Memory access between the banks is interleaved. Therefore, it MAY result in faster memory access to have both banks filled rather than one bank filled. If you do not need to add memory in pairs to fill up a bank, (like two 32-bit modules to support a 64 bit memory system) it would not make any difference so long as both banks have memory installed. Read your motherboard manual, it will explain it, and tell you what memory sizes work on the board. If it is really old and only supports 4GB of memory, it may not support SIMMs larger than 1GB.

David


Good explanation, David, but for Steve, I would say it depends upon the CPU bus architecture. Most likely Steve is using an ancient CPU like Pentium.

_________________
Shashi


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 129 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group