DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 4:19 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Greetings
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2016, 5:24 am 

Hi everyone. My name is Everett. I'm completely new to DIY audio but have learned a lot in the past couple of years changing things in my system. I met several DIYers this year at CAF and am now happy to join the forum!

My stereo consists of Altec components (802-8G loaded in32 horns, 414A woofers, XO @ 800 Hz) in petite onken cabinets. I'm driving these with 6v6 monoblocks... a pair of radiocraftsmen RC-2s. Unfortunately I need to downsize, so the system will change again soon...

Looking forward to being a part of the forum!!

Post subject: Re: Greetings
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2016, 8:20 am 

Welcome Everett!

Plenty of ideas and opinions to be found here. Happy to have you as part of our group.

Stuart

PostPosted: August 2nd, 2016, 8:45 am 
Site Admin

Welcome.

That's going to be a hard system to downsize from....

Roscoe

PostPosted: August 2nd, 2016, 8:55 am 

Roscoe, you downsized from it. Those are the very Onkens I got from you!! :mrgreen:

Damn, I almost want them back. Everett, don't tempt me man!

I'd suggest keeping the drivers and horns and get yourself a smaller cabinet (like the old cabs I got from you, hehe).

Very difficult to beat those parts, as I lectured you when I was trying to sell ya the stuff.

Anyway, welcome to the forum!

PostPosted: August 2nd, 2016, 10:07 am 
Site Admin

J-ROB wrote:
Roscoe, you downsized from it. Those are the very Onkens I got from you!! :mrgreen:

I never did much with the Onkens, never actually had my 414s in them, and I've never had 32s running at the house. So yeah, I COULD have had a similar system running, but I never did ;)

One might find a slightly smaller way to use the same drivers here: http://jelabs.blogspot.com/2014/01/alte ... redux.html which is something I may try soon, if I get my second 414 back ;)

Roscoe