DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently April 19th, 2024, 1:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Make Money with Audio?
PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 1:17 pm 

Hey all,

Does anybody have some ideas of any reliable ways to make some money on Ebay/Craigslist, doing something related to audio?

Left my job in April, so now I have a lot of free time. I have another income that pays my bills, so I'm not trying to replace an income. I'm just trying to figure out how I can reliably generate a couple extra bucks each month to keep my speaker building venture going.

My primary approach to Hi Fi is as a Craftsman/Artist, not an engineering approach.

I build beautiful speakers but I have never been able to sell them without taking a loss. It's not that they don't sound good! I have been doing this for 25 years so I know how to build speakers that sound good! I just can't convince people to show up at my house for an audition to prove it unless I price them way under their value in my listings, and then what usually happens is that people buy them "Un-heard", and I never really get any feedback on my work.

I thought about building Cables.

I also have a fantastic stand design, but it's relatively expensive compared to the cost of materials, because I have to pay a steel guy to do the welding, and a countertop guy to cut the marble for me.

Any other suggestion?

thanks,

Chris

PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 1:38 pm 

Based on another discussion, it seems like Computer-based audio is an area where people may feel a need, but don't have the skills to pull it off reliably. Maybe offer to install a properly configured NAS with all their CDs ripped to it, and set up the streamer in their existing audio system. This way, they're paying for your knowledge, not your sweat equity....(except for the CD ripping process).

Just a wild thought..... maybe :confusion-confused:

PostPosted: July 16th, 2015, 2:24 pm 

FerdinandII wrote: