DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently June 14th, 2024, 10:00 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: December 14th, 2021, 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: January 14th, 2015, 11:15 pm
Posts: 499
If I had the $$$$, I would reserve a room at the next CAF, install two of these babies, and see what room treatment might make them sound half-way decent. They might even sound better than some other rooms.

ray


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 14th, 2021, 4:33 am 
Offline

Joined: June 22nd, 2013, 11:00 am
Posts: 1039
I don't know about you, but I don't refer to Wendy Williams for audio recommendations.

_________________
I reject your music, and substitute my own.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 14th, 2021, 7:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 15th, 2015, 7:19 am
Posts: 1701
Location: Baltimore MD
Four piezeo tweeters oh boy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 14th, 2021, 8:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 3:31 pm
Posts: 1792
Looks like they are claiming 10KW. I tested a Behringer inuke 6000 amp once that claimed 3,100 watts peak power per channel into 4 ohms. In reality, it put out 1,200 watts RMS per channel. When I spoke to them about it they said this very short term peak power rating was "common" for DJ applications and they were conforming to that tradition. In reality it was a very competent "lower" powered amp for only $400.

As far as running on a regular 120 VAC line, When living in MD, I was running my whole system including a true 5KW of amplifier power (two QSC 1310 and one Crown Macro Reference) on a shared 15 amp branch circuit. I never had a breaker trip because of the high peak to average nature of music, but I use a soft start circuit on my whole system to prevent turn on surges as all the storage caps in the different pieces charge up. If not, I'm sure I would trip the breaker.

In the current house, I'm running everything including over 7KW of amplifier power since I have added the distributed subs to the system powered by a Crown Studio Reference amp for a quad amped set up. It is on a dedicated 30 amp circuit and still goes through the soft start circuit. I'm including a photo of the equipment rack in the basement and the soft start circuit panel. It also has one power strip that is a straight on/off because some digital displays do not like a soft start. I'm including photos on the rack and soft start.

Bottom line on the original piece shown, I don't see it in my future.

Tom


Attachments:
Equipment rack in basement_small.jpg
Equipment rack in basement_small.jpg [ 551.81 KiB | Viewed 3710 times ]
Soft start control _small.jpg
Soft start control _small.jpg [ 488.93 KiB | Viewed 3710 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 14th, 2021, 10:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: December 14th, 2013, 2:19 pm
Posts: 960
tomp wrote:
Looks like they are claiming 10KW. I tested a Behringer inuke 6000 amp once that claimed 3,100 watts peak power per channel into 4 ohms. In reality, it put out 1,200 watts RMS per channel. When I spoke to them about it they said this very short term peak power rating was "common" for DJ applications and they were conforming to that tradition. In reality it was a very competent "lower" powered amp for only $400.

As far as running on a regular 120 VAC line, When living in MD, I was running my whole system including a true 5KW of amplifier power (two QSC 1310 and one Crown Macro Reference) on a shared 15 amp branch circuit. I never had a breaker trip because of the high peak to average nature of music, but I use a soft start circuit on my whole system to prevent turn on surges as all the storage caps in the different pieces charge up. If not, I'm sure I would trip the breaker.

In the current house, I'm running everything including over 7KW of amplifier power since I have added the distributed subs to the system powered by a Crown Studio Reference amp for a quad amped set up. It is on a dedicated 30 amp circuit and still goes through the soft start circuit. I'm including a photo of the equipment rack in the basement and the soft start circuit panel. It also has one power strip that is a straight on/off because some digital displays do not like a soft start. I'm including photos on the rack and soft start.

Bottom line on the original piece shown, I don't see it in my future.

Tom


Tsk, Tsk Tom!

As an EE you know better!

Nema 5-15R receptacles on a 30 ampere circuit? Never! Clear violation of NFPA 70 210.23 and tables!

Try not to burn down your beautiful new home!!!!

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Just ball busting!

Slick


Attachments:
210.23.jpg
210.23.jpg [ 748.71 KiB | Viewed 3704 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: December 14th, 2021, 11:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 3:31 pm
Posts: 1792
Tsk, tsk Stuart. Each power strip has it's own 15 amp breaker so each acts like a separate branch circuit. Input to the soft start circuit is appropriately wired and fused for the box capacity. The box then acts like a load center to feed the "branch circuits". That box comes off another box on the wall I built that feeds the soft start and also a standard NEMA 5-15R that is separately fused that goes to the UPS on top of the rack that is always on and feeds my music servers and other stuff that I leave on. This is not my first rodeo.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group