DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 1:42 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: September 17th, 2021, 2:49 pm 
Site Admin

After hearing what the Chord Hugo M-Scaler did for the Qutest DAC when Dave M had them both at my place, I’d been planning to get the M-Scaler to go with my Hugo TT2 DAC. Until I started playing with HQPlayer… For those of you who haven’t been paying attention, the M-Scaler is an upsampling device that goes between your digital source (bridge/endpoint for computer based playback, transport for disc based playback) and your DAC. The M-Scaler then up-samples the music (PCM only I believe) to the highest rate your DAC can handle (or less, if you prefer). I believe the M-Scaler just passes DSD straight through (DaveM?). The M-Scaler uses some sophisticated algorithms to do the up-sampling and dithering, with up to 1 million taps on the digital filter (the digital filters in most DACs have 256 taps).