DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently April 16th, 2021, 10:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: April 4th, 2021, 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 17th, 2016, 6:24 am
Posts: 870
FerdinandII wrote:
All these people trying to explain the Theory of Relativity because the wrong amp in their system has the highest gain...... :crazy:


That’s not the case. Above 100Hz I have 4 horn loaded channels with about 105bB efficiency. Sub woofers are only about 93dB driven by two bridged mono amps with 400W power. Avery thing is working well with DSP crossover. Problem is, when I switchover to passive crossover, how would I level match the subs. I certainly do not wish to attenuate the Horns by about 12bB.

_________________
Shashi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 4th, 2021, 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 17th, 2016, 6:24 am
Posts: 870
Jim G wrote:
Jim G wrote:
...I'm out of my league with the theory being discussed, but wouldn't one use an amplifier with a gain control to reduce the overall gain of the 4 way passive system to match the subs? This will reduce overall system noise as well. I can only imagine this system will be quite noisy?

...or use a much more efficient passive sub with external crossover? Mine are about 100db.


Horn loaded sub project is on my todo list. Right now, I started work in top-down approach. DAC -> Preamp -> pllxo in that order.

_________________
Shashi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 4th, 2021, 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 28th, 2013, 3:31 pm
Posts: 316
Mine aren't horn loaded but would easily keep up with your system. My full range speakers are 103db and there's tons of available gain on the crossover if needed. You're welcome to borrow one if you'd like.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 4th, 2021, 8:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 17th, 2016, 6:24 am
Posts: 870
I think I got it. I was assuming the input impedance changes depending on the position of the wiper which is technically true, except for the wiper is connected to significantly higher impedance next stage. So, the source sees entire pot impedance as load irrespective of position of wiper.

Roscoe’s messages are seldom helpful, he is cryptic and difficult to understand for someone not very well informed. And he never responded to my request for clarification. In person, he is very helpful.

Sad to say, none here tried to explain. Instead couple of people acted like jerks. Walts always does that, maybe he is still holding against me for refusing to buy the cables and bullet tweeter from him. Now, Fernidad too is now acting like Walt for some unknown reason.

This forum is not conducive to learning. There are a few people who are vey knowledgeable and helpful, people like David M, David B, Tom P, Jim etc.

_________________
Shashi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 4th, 2021, 9:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 17th, 2016, 6:24 am
Posts: 870
Jim G wrote:
Mine aren't horn loaded but would easily keep up with your system. My full range speakers are 103db and there's tons of available gain on the crossover if needed. You're welcome to borrow one if you'd like.


Thx for the offer. I might take you up on the offer but, Let me get the projects in hand frond first. Modding the DAC to transformer coupling which should give me plenty of voltage so I can do with very little gain in the preamp. For that purpose, I am getting a variable gain (real gain) preamp from Transendent sound. If things work out, I want to control the volume by adjusting the gain only, no attenuation of the signal.

https://transcendentsound.com/slider.html

_________________
Shashi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 5th, 2021, 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: June 22nd, 2013, 11:00 am
Posts: 843
No pictures?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 5th, 2021, 7:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 15th, 2015, 7:19 am
Posts: 1389
Location: Baltimore MD
Shashi
If you get the TS Slider you will want to get a larger power transformer. Bruce believes you only need a power supply large enough to run the circuit.
A larger transformer will really improve things.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 5th, 2021, 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 14th, 2015, 11:15 pm
Posts: 450
Pelliott321 wrote:
Shashi
A larger transformer will really improve things.


Could you go into more detail?

ray


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 5th, 2021, 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 22nd, 2013, 12:58 pm
Posts: 222
ratbagp wrote:
Pelliott321 wrote:
Shashi
A larger transformer will really improve things.


Could you go into more detail?

ray


https://youtu.be/QySiWSpaXaQ
Start at the 2:00 mark if you just want to hear the story.......


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: April 5th, 2021, 4:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: February 19th, 2017, 9:43 am
Posts: 433
If the transformer is capable of providing the amount of current the circuit needs isn't it the filter caps that determine the impedance of the power supply? Instantaneous current is provided by the caps, not the transformer.

_________________
I have too much stuff - https://www.pleasebuymystuff.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group