DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 5:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Nothing to do with audio
PostPosted: January 21st, 2018, 2:17 pm 

One of my other insanities is photography. I love the whole idea of digital imagery. Now I do not want to start a dialogue over the differences between digital and analog(film) photography.
I was a working photographer for a number of years (1972-1995) in Washington. I did some studio work and was pretty good with a view camera. I miss the perspective and focus control.
I have tried the PC lens that Nikon has. They are very expensive and very limited. So when communicating with Paul McGowan and finding out he takes all of PS Audios product photography
and uses a converted Sony DSLR on a custom built view camera, I started a search on the net and found there are many out there doing just this.
Arca makes a camera that starts at $1.6k without lens that most are using, but there are makes out there rolling their own. I chose to go that way.
So I bought a 2X3 Cambo for $150 and a 150mm lens for $50 and an Nikon extension tube for $9 on ebay.
So my proof of concept is complete, enough to go forward.
The 150mm lens is not very sharp and is too long for product work in my small studio.
So I need:
90mm and a 65mm which is much more money. I will probably need a recessed lens board which I will fabricate.
Also a bag bellows ( I am going to make one first) They are a bit rare for the Cambo 2X3
(there is one for 99 pounds in England plus 20 pounds shipping)
Also a lens shade
The extension tube is also too long. Its 21mm and I need to find a 15mm which are available.
This is needed to give the Nikon body room to fit the Cambo 2X3 back

Attachments:
studio1_sm.jpg
studio1_sm.jpg [ 52.88 KiB | Viewed 23772 times ]
camera3_sm.jpg
camera3_sm.jpg [ 81.96 KiB | Viewed 23772 times ]
camera2_sm.jpg
camera2_sm.jpg [ 73.44 KiB | Viewed 23772 times ]