DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 6:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Re: Hi
PostPosted: July 29th, 2013, 3:21 pm 

Thanks everyone. I love my open reel also. I have a dead Dynaco ST-70 that I want to get working again & upgraded. I look forward to learning more & possibly meets.

Craig

PostPosted: July 29th, 2013, 3:34 pm 

Hi Craig,

Should be pretty easy to get the Dynaco up and running again if the trannies are good. Or, you could use the iron and make an amp that is a whole heck of a lot better......... but then you are starting down a slippery slope. I've been rebuilding amps for more than 15 years - there is always something that might make it just a little bit better. :lol:

It's fun.

Charlie

PostPosted: July 29th, 2013, 5:51 pm 

I'm not sure what died on it. I remember it was working & it just died. No power. Tubes just went dark. I guessed it was the transformers. What do I know? I don't know where to start. It hasn't been plugged in in about 7 years. I want to upgrade it & go down that slippery slope! LOL

Craig

PostPosted: July 31st, 2013, 10:56 am 

Hmm, if all the tubes went dark, did you check the fuse? I think there is a 3-Amp fuse in the primary of the power transformer. There is schematic attached to this post. If the fuse is good, the tube heaters should light up unless the power-transformer primary and/or both heater secondaries burned out. If you have a multimeter you can carefully check the primary AC voltage and heater AC voltages.

Attachment:
File comment: Dynaco ST-70 Schematic
st70_schematic.gif
st70_schematic.gif [ 90.6 KiB | Viewed 28449 times ]

PostPosted: July 31st, 2013, 11:05 am 

I believe the power transformers do have a fairly high failure rate. It is the output transformers that you really want anyway. You can get a replacement PT here:

http://triodeelectronics.com/mq060.html

But definitely check the fuse first!

PostPosted: July 31st, 2013, 11:24 am