DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 5:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Tube Rolling
PostPosted: July 6th, 2015, 5:20 pm 

Hi All,

I'm new to tubes, but I just bought a pretty nice Pacific Creek E34I integrated valve amplifier.

It is an ultra linear design with four 6sn7 tubes in the preamp/predriver section, and four EL34B tubes in the output section.

The guy that sold it to me said he carefully chose to upgrade the Shuguang preamp/predriver tubes with some Sylvanias, and he didn't think I should waste any time fooling around with them.

He did suggest that I should experiment with the Shuguang EL34b output tubes however.

The amp sounds pretty awesome, but does anybody have any recommendations or advice on how to learn about the qualities of all the different models of tubes?

My only criticism of the amp at this point, is that I lost a little bit of low bass growl coming out of my speakers when I switched from solid state, and my classical music lost a little bit of it's projection into my room.(I want to call it a lack of brilliance, but the high detail is still there. It just doesn't sound like i'm in the hall anymore. It's kind of like i'm listening to the orchestra from one of the doorways into the hall.)

Thanks,

Chris

Post subject: Re: Tube Rolling
PostPosted: July 7th, 2015, 7:51 am 

Nice looking amp! At a very nice made in the good ole USA price!!!

Lots of experience in the club with PP guys using EL34s. If I remember correctly, the "best" are probably Shugang Treasure tubes. Reproduction Gold Lion I know are excellent as well. NOS Mullard are right there with the best (some say certain versions ARE STILL the best).

As for input tubes and "new" production, I believe that there is a Soviet military tube, 1578, purported to be fantastic. I have some 6SL7 equivalents, 1579, and they are as advertised.

http://www.ebay.com/gds/Find-best-repla ... 806/g.html