DCAudioDIY.com

DC Area Audio DIYer's Community
It is currently March 28th, 2024, 3:28 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: March 24th, 2023, 10:34 pm 

This is my first project with a toroid PT. I plan to use a metal chassis and mount the toroid on top with a cover for shielding. Fortunately, I happened upon a discussion of the issues involved and the ugly things that can happen! My question is, is the Antek cover arrangement sufficient to avoid the dreaded core loop? I assume so but I wanted to ask the experts here. Here's what Antek sends you:

https://www.antekinc.com/ca-005-steel-cover/

I'd appreciate any input to avoid a nuclear meltdown. ;-)

PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 6:10 am 

Grover,

Yes, the top cover is fastened with black nylon insulating bushing and acorn nut, so that it does not complete the loop. It should work fine. The heavy (and more expensive) steel cover is what I use and it is extremely effective, though overkill. I have a pair of the stamped covers in hand waiting for the next project.

https://www.antekinc.com/ca-050-steel-cover/

David

PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 10:12 am 

Actually when it comes to toroids that are inherently shielded by virtue of their toroidal construction. Put another way -- they don't emit a magnetic field.

So -- money and effort does not have to be spent to shield what doesn't need shielding.

PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 10:45 am 
Site Admin

Theory and practice don’t always agree…. That’ll be true the next time someone builds a perfect toroidal transformer, which will also be the first time.

PostPosted: March 25th, 2023, 11:07 am 

SoundMods wrote:
Actually when it comes to toroids that are inherently shielded by virtue of their toroidal construction. Put another way -- they don't emit a magnetic field.

So -- money and effort does not have to be spent to shield what doesn't need shielding.